Volunteer of the Year Service Award

Volunteer of the Year Service Award
ILMSA is a volunteer driven organization that is dependent on their continued support to keep ILMSA running smoothly.  Whether on a local, regional or national level volunteers are the life blood of USA Masters Swimming.  The Volunteer of the Year Service Award is given to the volunteer who exhibits the characteristics of leadership, good sportsmanship, generosity, volunteerism, exhibits a “can do” attitude and has a passion to promote Masters Swimming.  t. 

An ILMSA member is awarded this service award, based on nominations received by the ILMSA Bard of Directors.  The award is presented at the ILMSA state meet.  Anyone with a current ILMSA/USMS membership is eligible to submit a nomination.  Nominations will be considered for current year volunteer activities.  Nominations can be submitted in a one page letter addressed to the ILMSA Awards and Recognition Chair.  To be considered each nomination letter should include the following information:

  • The nominating person’s, e-mail address, contact telephone number and their club affiliation
  • The name, e-mail address, contact telephone number and club affiliation of the person being nominated
  • Cite the current year service/services that they are/were involved in
  • The impact that they had on the projects or programs that they were involved in
  • The resulting benefits
  • Past year award winners are eligible as an individual or a group for their efforts in a given year
  • A project/program cannot win the award in consecutive years.

Nominations must be submitted electronically, via e-mail by the February  1st deadline to: awards @ ilmsa.com

Past recipients may be nominated for current year service.

Past recipients of the Volunteer of the Year Service Award:
2021: Jeff Peterson and Doug Skor
2020: John Carroll of Central Illinois Masters
2019: Emily Traw of Chicago Smelts
2018: Ed Stranc
2017: Marissa Filippo of Chicago Swedish Fish
2016:  Tracy Lord of Chicago Swedish Fish
2014:  M. J. Gasik of Tri Right Masters
2013:  Barb Delanois of Chicago Smelts
2012:  Heidi Kafka of Chicago Smelts
2011:  John Traynor unattached
2010:  Phil Dodson of Evanston Masters
2009:  Chris Sheean of Chicago Masters
2008:  Greg Weber of
2007:  Rich Mueller unattached
2006:  Mary Pohlmann of Southern Illinois Masters

*updated 1/27/2021